Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to set-up a simple subversion (SVN) workflow.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to set-up a simple subversion (SVN) workflow.

Hi,
    I am trying to set-up a simple SVN workflow at home. I am new to subversion (and programming) so I have been reading the official PDF documentations but still not sure about how to set-up my repository.

I am working mainly with python, bash and rsl (Renderman Shading Language)

So I already have a /dev structure on my disk that looks like this:
    Name:  c321c06be1ccf6add7210e34bf3b2157.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  5.6 KB
    (http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/6...vstructure.png)

And I have a /site structure that links to my /dev folder. This is where I create (simple) sym. links to the work in progress or completed scripts or bits of programs and shaders:
    Name:  6addfa017a0f216ccde8310bb06c159b.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  12.5 KB
    (http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/5...estructure.png)

Obviously this is a primitive approach that I would like to improve. But first, I would like to know the following:
    1) Will I set-up separate repositories for each different programming platforms?
    2) Where exactly I should be placing my repository?

I am looking for something simple and almost only for me. But also learning new skills as well. SVN seems to be a good solution, and learning it will add to my experience. Only that I am not sure how to start.

Thanks.

(P.S: This is all for linux.)
    Last edited by symbolix; 04-10-2012, 12:00 AM. Reason: To fix the images.

Originally posted by symbolix View Post
    Obviously this is a primitive approach that I would like to improve. But first, I would like to know the following:
    1) Will I set-up separate repositories for each different programming platforms?
    2) Where exactly I should be placing my repository?